Home » The Boleyn King (The Boleyn Trilogy, #1) by Laura Andersen
The Boleyn King (The Boleyn Trilogy, #1) Laura Andersen

The Boleyn King (The Boleyn Trilogy, #1)

Laura Andersen

Published
ISBN : 9780345534101
ebook
368 pages
Enter the sum

 About the Book 

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY RT BOOK REVIEWSPerfect for fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, and Showtime’s The Tudors, The Boleyn King is the first book in an enthralling trilogy that dares to imagine: What if Anne Boleyn hadMoreNAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY RT BOOK REVIEWSPerfect for fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, and Showtime’s The Tudors, The Boleyn King is the first book in an enthralling trilogy that dares to imagine: What if Anne Boleyn had actually given Henry VIII a son who grew up to be king?Just seventeen years old, Henry IX, known as William, is a king bound by the restraints of the regency yet anxious to prove himself. With the French threatening battle and the Catholics sowing the seeds of rebellion at home, William trusts only three people: his older sister Elizabeth- his best friend and loyal counselor, Dominic- and Minuette, a young orphan raised as a royal ward by William’s mother, Anne Boleyn.Against a tide of secrets, betrayal, and murder, William finds himself fighting for the very soul of his kingdom. Then, when he and Dominic both fall in love with Minuette, romantic obsession looms over a new generation of Tudors. One among them will pay the price for a king’s desire, as a shocking twist of fate changes England’s fortunes forever.Includes a preview of Laura Andersen’s The Boleyn DeceitPraise for The Boleyn King“Imaginative . . . Andersen focuses on creating an exciting, action-driven plot containing strong doses of both intrigue and romance. Tudor-era historical fiction fans who are willing to accept the unusual premise will be rewarded with an original and entertaining read that’s reminiscent of the best of Philippa Gregory.”—Library Journal (starred review)“Gripping . . . Andersen delves into an alternative Tudor England geared to rivet period fans and newcomers alike. . . . Perfect for Philippa Gregory fans.”—Booklist (starred review)“A surprising gem and a thoroughly enjoyable read.”—Historical Novels Review“Andersen’s novel, alive with historical flair and drama, satisfies both curious and imaginative Tudor aficionados. . . . Her multidimensional characters are so real that readers will wish it was history and eagerly await the next in the trilogy.”—RT Book Reviews (Top Pick)“A wonderfully imaginative and well-written tale of intrigue, high court politics and desperate love.”—Deseret News“ ‘What if . . .’ With these tantalizing words, Laura Andersen creates a fresh and vividly realized alternative world where Anne Boleyn not only lives, but also gives birth to a healthy son who will become King. With the introduction of Minuette, Princess Elizabeth’s lady-in-waiting, we meet an extraordinary young woman who embodies love and loyalty, and who fights to find the humanity at the heart of the most glamorous—and dangerous—court in Europe.”—Susan Elia MacNeal, author of Mr. Churchill’s Secretary“Full of intrigue, conspiracies, and the accurate details so essential to good historical fiction . . . Anyone who has even the slightest fascination with the Tudors will want to devour this delectable novel in a single sitting.”—Tasha Alexander, New York Times bestselling author of Death in the Floating CityLook for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.From the Trade Paperback edition.